Home > Inside the Priory > About the building

About the Priory building

This is a view from the Church Tower.

The Priory Church dates from the middle of the 12th century with later additions.

A nunnery in 660 A.D., it was rebuilt in the 12th century. The unique tower has work of early Norman, Transitional, Early English, Decorated and Perpendicular periods. The reformation of 1539 led to partial destruction. Inside are many interesting features including England's last used ducking stool.

 

There is a fine church organ and the Priory regularly hosts concerts throughout the year.

The bells of the church are very rare. There are ten now, but the back eight bells were cast by Wm Evans of Chepstow. They are the only original ring of eight bells to be cast by Evans' at the same time (1756). In 1894, two new bells were cast by John Warners of London.

The Priory is a Grade 1 Listed Building on the site of an Ancient Monument.
It is maintained without any subsidy from The Government or the Local Authority.